May Events

April 28th, 2015

May 2 (Sat): JM Spring Faire, 10am-3pm;
May 13 (W): 4th Grade  Living History – African-American Migration to California; School Spirit Day;
May 18 (M): JM Career Day;
May 18-20 (M-W): OUSD Science Fair;
May 19 (Tu): JM Grandparent’s Day;
May 21 (Th): JM Open House;
May 22 (F): NO SCHOOL – Lincoln’s Day Holiday;
May 25 (M): NO SCHOOL – Memorial Day;
May 28 (Th): Parent Appreciation Breakfast

April Events

March 31st, 2015

April 6-10 (M-F): Spring Break  - No School;
April 15 (W): 3rd Grade Living History Rancho Days Celebration;
April 16 (Th): Monthly PTA Meeting 7-8:30pm;
April 22 (W): JM Science Fair

March Events

February 21st, 2015

March 6 (F): 2nd Grade Marine Mammal Gallery;
March 11 (W): 1st Grade Living History/Pacific Islander Day; School Spirit Day;
March 15 (Sun): Kids Club Spring Enrichment Registration begins;
March 19 (Th): Monthly PTA Meeting 7-8:30;
March 21 (Sat): 41st Annual Joaq-a-thon’9:30am – 3:30pm;
March 23 (M): Kids Club Spring Enrichment classes begin;
March 25 (W): JM Family Math/Science Night;
March 31 (Tu): NO SCHOOL – Cesar Chavez Day

February Events

January 21st, 2015

Feb 9-13 (M-F): School Book Fair;
Feb 10 (Tues): JM Family Book Fair Night; 2nd Grade Marine Mammal Gallery;
Feb 16 (Mon): President’s Day Holiday – NO SCHOOL;
Feb 19 (Thurs): Monthly PTA Meeting 7-8:30

January Events

December 19th, 2014

Jan. 5 (Mon): School starts after winter break;
Jan. 7 (Wed): Prospective Student School Tour, 10:30-11am;
Jan 8 (Th): Prospective Parent Night, 7-8pm;
Jan 12 (Mon); Kids Club Enrichment begins;
Jan 14 (Wed): School Spirit Day;
Jan 16 (Th): Monthly PTA meeting;
Jan 19 (Mon): NO SCHOOL for Martin Luthor King, Jr. Day;
Jan 22 (Th): JM Oratorical Assembly, 9am;
Jan 29 (Th): Spelling Bee, 1pm;
Jan 30 (Fri): Minimum Day (Make up day for missed Storm Day)

Storm Watch: School Closed, Information Night Cancelled

December 10th, 2014

On Thurs. Dec 11th, 2014, the Oakland schools are closed due the storm.

The Open House/Information Night for 2015-16 Prospective Parents originally scheduled for Thurs., Dec. 11th has been cancelled. The rescheduled date is Thurs., Jan 8th, 7pm.

December Events

November 30th, 2014

Dec 5 (Fri): End of first Report Card period; Montera Middle School Tour, 9:10-10am;
Dec 6 (Sat): Holiday Around the World Celebration, 11am – 2pm;
Dec 9 (Tues): Montera Middle School Tour, 9:10-10am;
Dec 10 (Wed): Spirit Day (p.j. day); Prospective Student Tour 10:30-11am; JM Winter Bazaar;
Dec 11 (Thurs): JM Prospective Parent Night, 7-8pm;
Dec 16 (Tues): Kids Club Fall Enrichment ends
Dec 17 (Wed): Reading Challenge Celebration;
Dec 18 (Thurs): Prospective Student Tour 10:30-11am;
Dec 19 (Fri): Winter Sing-a-long Assemby, 10 am;
Dec 22-Jan 2 (M-F): SCHOOL CLOSED for winter recess

JM Reading Challenge: Nov 1-Dec 17

November 2nd, 2014

Nov 1, 2014 we kick off our first-ever Principal’s Reading Challenge. Principal Smith is challenging our students and staff to read 10,000 books as a school between Nov 1 and Dec 17.

Our goal is to enjoy reading and read a lot.  Most types of reading material will count toward our goal of 10,000:

  • Picture books, novels, fiction, nonfiction
  • Audiobooks, eBooks
  • Magazines, read cover-to-cover
  • Books read to students (in any grade) by librarian, teacher, family, reading buddies
  • Comic/cartoon books, manga, graphic novels

Students will turn their logs in with their homework, each Friday for most classes. Additional logs are available in the library, office, or here.

Older students working through longer chapter books are welcome to read picture books to build their reading logs.

READING CELEBRATION Dec 17th: If we’ve reached our goal, or are close by Wed., Dec 17, we’ll hold a school-wide Reading Celebration on that day. With a pajama day, lots of reading time, “bedtime” snacks and guest story readers. This is not a contest; we’re not tracking students individually or awarding individual prizes. This is an all-school group effort.

November Events

October 16th, 2014

Nov 6 (Th): Montera Prospective Family Info Night, 6:30-7:30;
Nov 7 (Fri): 2nd Grade Fall Feast; Montera Middle School Tour, 9:10am-10:00am;
Nov 10, 12-14 (M, W-F): Minimum Days;
Nov 11 (Tu): NO SCHOOL – Veteran’s Day;
Nov 12 (W): School Spirit Day (Dress as your favorite book character);
Nov 14 (F): Montera Middle School Tour, 9:10am-10:00am;
Nov 15 (Sa): JM Annual Auction, 5:30-11pm;
Nov 18 (Tu): SSC/ ELAC Meeting, 5:30-6:30pm
Nov 19 (Th): Monthly PTA Meeting 7-8pm (Dinner at 6:30pm);
Nov 24-28 (M-F): Thanksgiving Break – NO SCHOOL

October Events

September 17th, 2014

Oct. 2 (Fri), Oct 7 (Tu), Oct. 17 (Fri), Oct 21 (Tu), Oct 28 (Tu): Montera Middle School Tours (9:10 am);
Oct 10 (Fri): NO SCHOOL (Professional Development Day);
Oct 16 (Th): Monthly PTA Meeting (dinner: 6:30 pm; mtg 7-8 pm);
Oct 16-17 (Th-Fri): Picture Day! Look for more details from your child’s teacher
Oct 21 (Tu): Family Reading Night (5 pm);
Oct 26 (Sun): JM Harvest Festival 10am-4pm;
Oct 31 (Fri): Halloween Parade